Cockpit update

I got the new Origin8 Citi Classic bars installed and have gone for a couple long test rides. They work! I’m sitting in a much better position and my neck, shoulders and back are better for it. The North Road style bars rise and sweep farther back, bringing my hands closer to my body and bring my head up.

I have noticed that steep descents require more hand grip strength. With straight bars, you tend to fall into the bar and your fingers are free to shift and brake. With the ends of the bars more parallel to the direction of travel, your hands can slip forward. I was going down a 200′ hill at a good clip when I noticed this. the lesson being to  test thoroughly when you make changes!

I added a Delta Smartphone caddy too. It holds my iPhone rock steady. Note the mirror is swung under the bars for better hand clearance.

I have since replaced the Sunding 548C wireless computer with a Schwinn SW654 wired version  that I found in a thrift store for $3, brand new in the package. The Sunding was sensitive to electrical interference from my phone and basically useless when my headlamp was on strobe mode. The wired computer has more functions (20) including a thermometer and backlight and it is an instant-on type too. A 20 mile trip showed it close to the readings from my iPhone Gaia GPS app.

 

The latest dashboard configuration. Even that has changed with the replacment of the cranky SunDing 548C computer.
The latest dashboard configuration. Even that has changed with the replacement of the cranky SunDing 548C computer.
Side view showing the sweep of the hand grips on the new bars
Side view showing the sweep of the hand grips on the new bars

 

Another view of the right side showing the rack pack, chain guard and new cockpit
Another view of the right side showing the rack pack, chain guard and new cockpit.
On the Denny Street overpass during evening rush hour and slow I-5 traffic below. January 9. 2015.
On the Denny Street overpass during evening rush hour and slow I-5 northbound traffic below. January 9. 2015. Bike +1, freeway, zero.

Here’s the cockpit as of Februrary 11, 2015. I tried a Zefal Espion mirror with a gooseneck extension and promptly went back to the Mountain Mirrycle mirror. It is much more stable and the lens have better clarity.

I have installed the Schwinn SW654 computer and have used it for several day trips. It works fine, but I have ordered a Sigma Sport BC 5.12 to try. After reading some reviews I bought one on eBay with a headlamp/tail lamp combo for $10.

The water bottle cage is a new addition. I got a Minoura BH-60 bottle cage adapter that clamps to the handlebar, bridging the stem clamp and moved the Klean Kanteen cage up to that position and installed a standard water bottle cage on the down tube. The Minoura adapter barely fit and wouldn’t work with a typical 4-bolt stem clamp. It would probably work offset to one side where it isn’t bridging the stem. The bottle much easier to reach in this position and adds more water carrying capacity. The frame triangle on this bike is very small and although it has braze-ons for two bottles, the bottles hit if you try to load both. There is limited room to get the bottle out of the cage in the triangle too— a side-release cage may be a better option.

 

 

 

Cockpit 2_12_2015

 

 

Leave a Reply

